Happy Birthday, Neighbours!

I’ve lived in the U.S. for so long that I instantly go into 4th of July mode. I look for the sponge cake decorated with the American flag made of blueberries, strawberries and frosting (or bananas) and gravitate toward a patriotic outfit of red, white and blue. Granted, now that I’m living in the Maritimes, that can be easily taken for a penchant for nautical themes but whatever floats your boat, right? (Oh San, you’re so punny!)

So Happy 4th of July, my American Friends! I’ll have a slice of watermelon in your honour today.

*

Most days I’d rather be 5 years old than an adult. Sure adults come with awesome perks but I don’t really care about any of them. “What about driving?!” I can hear you clamour. I’d rather take the bus, thank you. Driving is fun but I don’t live for the moment when I can next slide in behind the wheel.

“What about boyfriends? Or girlfriends?” The peanut gallery stage whispers. Boyfriends and girlfriends in kindergarten require a commitment only to the end of recess. And  “I love you” means you can have my Fruit Roll-Up but don’t tell Stevie over there because I gave him my apple slices. Ahhhh duplicity. It’s amazing how early it starts. Romance is much simpler before the training bra stage.

Then there’s staying up late. At least in my house it was a big thing to see 10 pm. Now I don’t think that’s the case for most kids. So that’s a moot point.

I suppose the one thing I would miss would be vacations. I love going somewhere on my own, when I want to. Sadly though, I have to spend my hard-earned pennies, just like everyone else. There’s no escaping it. You can’t have everything in life, well I suppose if you had a sugar daddy that might not be true. For the majority of us though, adult life is nonnegotiable. Do what you need to to support yourself and do your best to enrich your life through improving your career or pursuing hobbies and passions. And take that vacation!

So, I’m off to do some highly unappealing errands today before settling in to work. After volunteering at the nursing home and doing an Aquafit class with a bunch of seniors, I’m feeling surprisingly spry and youthful. Almost as if I were 5 again. With a bank account. Not too bad, when you think about it.

