The Wisdom I found in a Sideview Mirror

Sometimes you just need to write. It makes me so sad to think of the years since I last kept a journal. In that time I’ve experienced the legitimate start of my life. Dating, breakdowns, university, college, massive successes but never one failure. I was sitting in my room tonight watching a movie *insert your favourite girl-movie here* having a text conversation with my friend.

Am I a disappointment to my friends and family?

What?! Why would you say that? You’re not in jail, you’re not doing heroin. It’s been 2 weeks since you’ve had a job. Would you be this hard on me if things were the other way around?

Courtesy of a Google search.

This is the way life happens.

You head down the road you’ve chosen and things are great until you, oh blow a tire or hit a moose or pick up a hitchhiker. Crazy stuff happens. Roll with it.

I may have strayed off the delightful path through a lovely countryside and it’s painful to think of what could have been. That’s my problem. I keep thinking about what I could’ve changed or what could’ve been different or what my life would’ve been like if this happened or I chose that direction. You know what?

Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear. 

And do you want to know why? It’s hard to let things go. We’re sentimental, attachment-driven creatures for the most part. I fall apart when it comes to change. I don’t handle very well any situation that indicates my best may not be good enough. So I keep those little indications of my short-comings right out where I can pick at them and keep them in my line of sight. Instead, they should fade from view as the rest of my life begins to take its place. 

How can you focus on the good in life when you concentrate on the negative? If you’re living in the past and not watching where you’re going, you’re going to crash and burn. It’s. As. Simple. As. That. It’s only a matter of time. Guaranteed.

As I said earlier, I’ve never failed, I’ve just whittled down my choices for a beautiful, successful future. There is no conventional road, no right way, and if in doubt, always remember that there is more than one way to get to where you’re happiest. Some days it’s hard to imagine it but it’s true.

Each day is new and exciting. Let its potential fill your horizon; enjoy the distance you’ve covered and what you’ve accomplished. There’s nothing more awe-inspiring than the realization that the world has so much more for you to experience. If you’re open to taking that chance, you will never come to a dead end, of that I’m certain.

