Don’t Make Promises You Can’t Follow Through On

I’m a great one for making plans and making commitments. All with the best intentions, you know. Unfortunately I sometimes bite off more than I can chew. It’s taken a lot of examples to make me realize I should think twice before opening my mouth. Each time I pipe up it’s with the best intention and somehow that makes it worse.

Oh, San. You’ve let another person down. 

Like yesterday. The mosquitoes didn’t get any of my blood because it didn’t have enough iron. Poor, poor them. The second time in a row I haven’t been able to donate blood. Then (also yesterday) I said I’d write another post later in the day and get my work done but neither of those things happened either.

It’s frustrating.  I sincerely want to do something but I get sucked into something else and I can’t accomplish what I had my little heart set on. As with yesterday, sometimes the reason is good enough to make you shift your priorities but usually not. I’m hoping to get to the Writer’s Federation some time within the next few days to do some hard research into the editing process. I assume I’m doing everything right and thinking of all I need to but I’ll let you in on a secret: I have no bloody clue what I’m doing. 

I also have a tendency to make things up as I go along. Like my Irish lessons. I repeat the words when I’m corrected but I discovered early on the trick to learning it is to remember what it sounds like in English. So for example, the word “sit” will forever sound like “six years” to me. Weird but if it works…

So between now and bed for the night I have a few hours to get my work done before heading out to a Gaelic Football match then sticking around for the Hurling Match. Then a wee bit of time until dance classes tonight. It’s a full life at the moment and I appreciate that. I’m not even thinking about the Jazz festival at the moment!

So for now I’m going to take the dog out then settle in for a few hours of ripping apart my writing before heading to the field for the games. I will do my best to post an update before dance class tonight.

