It’s Scary When the Words Disappear

I think I was abducted by scaliens. 

Damn them. Don’t they know how hard it is to get my stories done when I’m distracted and they mess with my days? How do you lose hours on end in the blink of an eye? It feels like 6 pm when you check the clock and realize it’s almost 9. Or your alarm goes off in the morning at a respectable 8 am and promise to sleep in just for 10 minutes and voilá… it’s 10:30 when your eyes fly open and you scramble out of bed. Those evil little devils. Damn those scary aliens!

It’s happened again today. My day’s been hijacked. This is why schedules are so important. A day full of good intentions is optimistic but if I don’t have a schedule then optimistic it will remain. I haven’t operated on a schedule in so long that I don’t know if I can put one back into effect for myself. It’s one of life’s ironies that the more time you have, the less is likely to get done. The old saying, ‘if you want something done, give it to the busiest person’ is so true. Time management is probably one of the most useful skills out there but it only works when there’s a time crunch and you have only so long to accomplish your goal.

It’s amazing how quickly these aliens bubble up from my subconscious and sabotage my work ethics and distract me from what needs to be done. I’m not working, for goodness sake!

I should be in the passionate throes of tortured artist. I should be living the bohemian life- love, passion and creating art. I should be taking advantage of a hot summer and live my life to the fullest. No more “I’ll start tomorrow.” Now. Tonight. With a glass of wine in my hand I want to be scribbling on those cards taped to my wall and to fall in love with the story that’s desperate to get out. I want to feel the passion that can only be found on these hot, sticky summer days and nights.

