Tag! Now I’m It!

The lovely C.B. Wentworth has pulled me from the sidelines where I’ve been languishing rather apathetically. Think Oscar Wilde minus the droves of adoring companions and copious amounts of mood enhancing delights. And a slightly less atmospheric and aesthetically pleasing boudoir. Though I have been eye-balling the bottle of wine  on my kitchen counter all day. Oh those evil Liver Leprechauns and my curtains are pretty decadent (2+ yards of beautiful chocolate-coloured satin). Even so, Oscar would be sadly shaking his head at my sad attempts at bohemian life.

Anyways…

I am now It in a delightful game of Blog Tag. If you’re unfamiliar with it, the rules are as follows:

  1. I must post the rules 
  2. I must answer the questions the tagger listed for me
  3. I must create (or reuse) 11 questions for those I tag
  4. I must tag 11 people
  5. I must let them know they’ve been tagged

So, the questions I look forward to answering:

1) What is something you’ve always wanted to learn how to do?

I have always wanted to learn how to play the cello. The resonance of it is so melancholic and rich yet soothing and nurturing, it’s the closest thing I’ve found so far that matches my soul. I’ve never been able to because as a massage therapist, I can’t risk forming callouses on my hands.

2) What is your favorite quote?

There are 2:

“The purpose of the present is to create a past to enjoy in the future.” -Me

“You’re never too old to become young.” -Mae West

The first reminds me that life is to be enjoyed. Everything else can be taken from me but if I have enough memories of my life to enjoy, even if my mind is stolen away, hopefully I’ll be able to hold onto one memory.

I’ve always admired Mae West’s attitude and strength. My grandmother was my hero and she embodied Mae West’s philosophy. This was the woman who taught her younger sister lines from a Mae West movie that were scandalously repeated to a minister when he came to tea one day.

She may have gotten into trouble and it isn’t even my own memory, but I still treasure it. You’re lucky if you’re able to cherish someone else’s past.

3) What is the scariest thing you’ve ever done?

It would have to be changing careers. Maybe this is the scariest thing because I’m in the middle of the process right now. It’s terrifying leaving a life I’ve known for 4 years and almost paralyzing to think that I have to function on an intellectual level that I haven’t been used to for 6 years. I don’t know if I can do it but I’ll do my best.

4) If there were no rules, what would you do?

I don’t know what I would do. I don’t work well without limits and structure. I would probably hide from the mass chaos going on around me.

5) Stick shift (manual) or automatic transmission?

I love manual transmissions rather than the point-and-shoot automatic cars. I love the feel of actually driving but I’m too scared to drive a stick shift. I don’t love driving enough to take on even more responsibility.

6) Mac or PC?

I’m a Mac girl even though I hate myself for being an iLemming. I’m still fighting getting an iPhone but I will forever have a MacBook.

7) You are a published author at your first book signing.  What message do you write with your autograph?

“If I can do it, so can you.”

8) What charity is closest to your heart?

Toronto’s Sick Kids Hospital. I spent a lot of time there when I was young and no child should be forced to deal with illnesses or broken bodies (in any form).

9) Name something that you think is underrated.

Hugs. It’s amazing what we discover we’ve taken for granted until they aren’t easily accessible to us. There are very few people I have in Halifax who are huggers. I miss having a really good hugger in my life. Do me a favour and give someone you care about a good, long, bear hug.

10) If you could give yourself a new name, what would it be?

It would be Alexandria. I love the name Alex for a girl, I could keep my actual name, Sandra or keep my shortened name, San.

11) What book or event changed your life?

It will forever be Magic for Marigold by L.M. Montgomery. This was the story that gave Yesterday her name, gave me my perspective to see the world and inspired my voice and style. It’s the book I keep coming back to. It’s literature for my soul when I need some comfort.

Phew! That took longer than I expected! So, now that I’ve answered, it’s time to pass along the challenge to 11 others:

Next Stop Tanzania

Emaginette

Befferkins

Bright Lights, Big Cacti

The View Outside

12 Novels

All the Soft Places

The Temp Files

Becoming Thirty

Wanton Creation

Quite Novel

So, to all my unsuspecting blog tag participants, here are your questions:

1. If you could re-live a moment in your life when would you choose and why?

2. What is your first happiest memory?

3. If you could have dinner with 3 dead historical figures who would you choose?

4. After a long, difficult day, what is your favourite way to unwind?

5. What is your favourite singer/band to listen to while writing?

6. If you sold your novel for 100,000 (dollar/Euro/Pound/etc.) what would you do with your advance?

7. What did you want to be when you were little?

8. What is one thing that you need with you when you write (on your desk, on your body, etc.)?

9. Would you rather write using a computer, typewriter or pen and paper and why?

10. What are 3 things that invariably make you smile?

11. What does your favourite colour remind you of?

I can’t wait to read your answers, I hope you all enjoy this game of tag as much as I have! Thank you for playing along and being lovely sports 🙂

Tag! You’re it!

