Optimistic Wednesday Part II

As promised, I’ve finally figured out a game plan for the year. Of course, I couldn’t have done it without the help of Allison. The hour and a half session seemed to fly by and before I knew it, my thoughts were organized, I had a clearer idea of where I stood in regards to my various stories and most importantly, I was able to verbalize what I want out of the year. It felt pretty amazing.

This year will be much different than last year was. I’ll still be working on a book a month but I’m certainly going to be more forgiving with myself. With everything happening over the course of the next 12 months I need to be more relaxed than last year. I’m okay with that.

I learned a lot about myself as a person and as a writer from last year’s exercise so I’m excited to try the adventure again but with some differences. Allow me to outline my plan.

Drum roll please…

  • I’m going to focus on 1 genre to send off to publishers
  • I’ll finish the literary fiction story in January
  • I’ll be working on the 4 books that could evolve into series
  • I won’t necessarily keep to the 50,000 words/month structure- it will depend on the month and the project
  • I’ll combine editing and re-writing as necessary through out the year

So with all that in mind, here is the year:

  1. July: CYOA- edits and re-writes
  2. August:  CYOA- edit, re-write and submit to publishers by Aug. 31st
  3. September: new Western
  4. October: continue working on Fantasy
  5. November: new CYOA
  6. December: continue working on Steampunk
  7. January: continue working on Literary Fiction
  8. February: new Western
  9. March: new Fantasy
  10. April: new CYOA
  11. May: new Steampunk
  12. June: new Fantasy

 

Obviously a lot can and will change through out the year but with this outline sketched in sand I finally have a direction and a goal in mind. Working in the genres that I had the most success with last year is a much better bet than dabbling in the unknown. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes of this year.

 

