Another Day Slips Through the Cracks

 

It’s amazing how much time, focus and energy being an adult takes. Errands, e-mails, phone calls and organizing take up a surprising amount of your daily allotment of resources. I’ve been trying to write a blog post so that my little calendar on the bottom of my page has every day of the month lit up. It’s unfortunate that the official WordPress time is 4 hours ahead of Nova Scotia’s. C’est la vie.

 

I’m officially starting to get nervous about the book. I’m still on the first story thread and I have a ton left to do for it. My anti-procrastination pep-talk didn’t really work. I have no idea how many days I have left but a whole month won’t feel like enough. I know I’ll get it done but I have no clue how. Is this starting to sound like denial or more like a delusion?

 

As I’ve continued working on it, I still love the idea of the sub-genre but I’m not loving the actual writing. Short stories are lovely because they give me just enough space to dabble in the realm of a genre that isn’t truly what I’m meant to write. For a CYOA, they’re short stories but it’s a bit much to write 4 or 6 or 10 of them at once. I didn’t take that into consideration before starting the book in February.

 

I think it’ll be a lot of fun to do my research and get everything prepared for my submission. I hope that I’ll have everything finished. Maybe the best thing to do is to work on it from the outside in. Continue with the structure then fill in the details rather than working on each piece in its entirety before moving onto the next thread. I don’t know. At this point I have to make a decision as to how I’m going to work on it and not look back. I still have a whole month to get it done but at the point, I have at least 70 hand-written pages to mix up and re-order then type up and I haven’t even gotten to the point where I’m getting a glimpse of the light at the end of the tunnel.

This pressure is definitely sending little shots of adrenaline through my body, I can feel my heart pitter-patter with the challenge of getting this done. I’ve thrown down the gauntlet to myself and am ready for a wild August. There’s a lot in my life that I can draw on for motivation, I just have to remember what those things are and use them like a cattle prod attached to a car battery- nothing like a little jolt to get me moving again, eh?

 

 

 

 

