*Le Sigh*

Do you want the good news first or the bad?

 

Why don’t we rip the band-aid off this sucker. So the bad news is…

I have no idea what I’m going to do with this book. I’ve already removed one story thread but now I’m beginning to doubt having the third one. There’s a theme emerging which is super fantastic (not my good news but yay!) but unfortunately only 2 of the 3 threads fit it. If I take it out, do I have to write an entirely new one to keep 3 story lines or will 2 be sufficient? I have no clue! How do I know if it’s enough or too much? Can I include less but focus on detail? I am a detail-oriented person when I really get into things but there is such a thing as too much. I’m confused.

 

I feel much better, thank you. Now for the good news…

I finished one entire thread! I thought it’d take longer but I managed to finish it late last night. Of course, I could always fill it out a bit or throw in another few twists or turns but if I’m keeping 3 threads then I have to be fairly concise. It’s such a relief to move on to something new. Of course I miss the familiarity of the first option but the next one is the most complete of the three when I originally finished so i’m crossing my fingers that it’ll be the quickest to re-write and fill out as needed.

It’s another cool-ish rainy day so my tea tastes extra delicious as I sit at the kitchen table working on the stories. My goal is to finish thread #2 by tonight but you never know what’s going to happen. I have at least 12 pages of hand-writing to do. it doesn’t sound like much but I will bet my favourite pen that there will be at least one more branch to be found in the stories I have to complete. Then of course, not every thread will be confined to one page. Some will have multiple pages so my poor little fingers are going to be tired tonight!

The best thing for me to do is to just finish what I have and then go from there. The beautiful thing about this is that if I want to take out a story it won’t affect any other part of the book. There will be no massive rearranging (except maybe some page numbers) and there won’t be any agonizing re-writes and editing. I’m actually really thrilled about how this is shaping up.

So hopefully I’ll be able to post a victory note tonight but if not, by mid-morning tomorrow I’m hoping to do so.

Happy Wednesday!

