I Forgot That 2 am to 4 am Is My Kryptonite

If I don’t have the steam to burn through the 2 deadliest hours for my productivity, I may as well throw in the towel, get a solid night’s sleep and start bright and early tomorrow. There’s not point in fighting a losing battle. I’ll just get cranky and frustrated. It’s been a long time since I’ve been in this position.

I miss the wildly productive night and day I had over the past 24 hours. I was really getting into burning the midnight oil kind of groove but I’ve run out of steam. I wasn’t able to finish the story today but I’ll do my best to finish it tomorrow before structuring the book. I think it’s a downtown kind of day to get out of the house, give myself a change of scenery and a breath of fresh air.

I don’t really want to call it a night just yet but when I have to go through my papers 3 times in a row to figure out what I’ve written and whether what I have so far is actually useful. And that’s just the page headings! I haven’t even gotten to the point where I can read through the rough drafts and see if it’s worth keeping or if I’ll have to re-write new chunks of the thread.

I’ve come ot the conclusion that no matter how long it takes me, I’m going to have to write an entire thread in one sitting. It may sound impractical and a cumbersome way to work but CYOA stories are a logistical nightmare if you don’t keep the stories straight in your head and have a clear idea of what you’re doing, where you’re going and where exactly you are in the plot.

It’s exciting to throw in another branch but more choices and more fun for your reader makes it that much more complicated and more difficult for you to successfully complete. I’m not opposed to complications in fact if I have the time and creative power, I thrive on twists, turns and wrenches thrown into my stories.

I have to let this sit for tonight and come back to things with fresh eyes tomorrow. It doesn’t seem impossible at the moment but I can tell my writing is disjointed and atrocious; there’s no point working when it takes 10 minutes to form a sentence or I have to struggle through muddy thoughts. I want to regain the clarity and the ease I had earlier today. So, there won’t be a 5 am bedtime, it’ll be more like 2:30.

