Officially Behind Schedule

 

Ah crap. I’m falling behind schedule and it’s not good. I’m going to have to break down and buy a printer. It’ll probably be cheaper in the end anyway and with all this writing, it’ll be good to have. Besides, I don’t want anyone at Staples reading this manuscript!

Speaking of manuscripts, as I’m typing it up, I’ve realized 2 very important things:

 

  1. There is so much work left to do to polish it. I have no idea how I’m going to manage to get it all done, I just know that I have to, therefore I will.
  2. I need to re-think how I approach writing one of these suckers. As I sit here typing up the story, I had a brainstorm. What if I typed each thread as a short story, printed them out, edited, arranged them in a disorderly order then just shuffled them around in the word document? There will be no easy way to do this, it’s complicated. I think I’ll try that way and see how it goes.

 

At least I can cross off finding a job and finding an apartment. That’s right! Your truly will be living like a grown up again AND will not be homeless come September 1st. I’ve made all kinds of progress today. It seems like things fall spectacularly apart but the good things usually happen in clusters.

 

I had hoped to finish my typing tonight but that’s not going to happen. I think I have another 20 or so pages and I’m just too tired. I’ll do it tomorrow morning and aim to have it finished by noon. If I can go out and get my printer by then I’ll have a solid few hours to edit it and fix what I can. I’ll print it out tomorrow night, take it in to get bound at Kinko’s perhaps then overnight it to my readers. Am I cutting it close? Most definitely but this is what I do best.

 

Once the manuscripts are out, I can continue working on it while I start packing to move and do my research into what I need to do for sending this sucker out to publishers. I’m really afraid there isn’t the substance I need for the stories but is it really a case of having quality over quantity? I hope so but I’ve been working on it for so long now that I can’t tell if it’s good or if it’s bad writing.

 

I suspect I’m going to have to round out the descriptions, tighten the stories and work on making the characters more concrete. I just have no idea what areas need the most work. I feel like it’s going to be everything. I must have been crazy to take on this project. What was I thinking?!

It’s almost 2 am and it’s certainly time to get to bed if I want to be up at 8 am to get my work done by noon. I think I’m going to have to treat myself to a bit of pampering on the 31st when I send this out to publishers. It’s been a crazy push so far and I am no where near the end of things!

 

 

 

 

