Welcome to the Family, Mr. Fish Stick

I knew my pristine workspace wouldn’t stay that way for long.

At Least Mr. Fish Stick’s home is austerely pristine in an ultra-modern way.

Isn’t he a dapper fellow?

So mellow, just hanging out

 

 

There’s something very mesmerizing about fish. And candlelight. Put them together, what do you have? A desk embellishment that is guaranteed to lull you into a stupor. I didn’t really think this one through too well.

I was hoping to be settled already in my new place and getting right into my writing. Instead, I’m sleeping in then when I finally do roll out of bed,  traipsing around the city buying fish and hanging out with the dog before flying out the door to go into work. I feel like I’m neglecting the work I need to do in order to prepare for my pitch next Sunday.

*gulp* It’s already that close?

It’s so hard to settle down and focus when furniture shopping and home decorating is so much fun! Now that I have the little pieces (i.e. a candle-holder-cum-fish-tank and accent curtains that really are kind of pointless but are gorgeous) the meat-and-potatoes of my apartment, aka furniture, has to wait until some wily bills have been subdued by my pay cheques. This is a David-and-Goliath situation so I may actually have furniture by the End of the World. However, if things are coming to an end in December I’m thinking that may not be the case.

I have a few projects still to do this week; some are more vital than others but they’re all little tasks that shouldn’t take too much time. This has been a complaint of mine for ages and I’m sure some of you out there are holding onto the sides of your computer monitor and shaking it in frustration. I just haven’t been making the time for it. A big part of the trouble is that this is excusable when moving or a crisis or situation suddenly appears but once out of the routine, it’s so difficult to get back into it.

I miss the early mornings and brewing a pot of strong, delicious Twinnings Everyday tea as the computer boots up. I really miss blogging but I miss reading the blogs of my WordPress friends. I’m so behind, it’s shameful. I apologize to you all. I’ve been a horrible WP friend this summer. I can’t wait to consistently start my day off with a swim practice or hot yoga class then a serious session of writing before work begins. I don’t know how long it’s been since I’ve had a routine in which I’ve looked forward to every component.

Some weeks I’ll sit down to write a post and as I sit here and think about what I’m going to talk about, I feel like this is diverging from a blog about writing and creativity. I thought it would stay true to the points and issues that are literature-related and I’d use it to track my progress and share lessons as I hone my craft. Obviously it’s turned out to be something much different. I’m not quite sure how I feel about that.

So, as I settle into my new life, I’ll take my cues from Mr. Fish Stick and just hang out in the good spots, explore a bit when I want to and just take things as they come. Granted, there’s much more in my life I’m in control of than he is but there is definitely a lot that isn’t. So, I’m going to focus on the good, work on getting back into the write routine for me (oh San, you’re so punny!) and enjoy my life. What else is there to do?

