Odds and Ends

 

My muse is a fair-weather friend. It’s there, whispering ideas in my ear at the most inconvenient times and when I’m able to devote my attention to it, it’s run off to pout in a corner because I didn’t drop everything the moment before to indulge its fancies. If this were an actual relationship, I’d be high tailing it out of here. I have no time for high maintenance baloney. But, I’m still here and I’m a sucker. I’ll take the few gems my muse throws my way and when we’re in sync, it’s magical.

 

I’m working on my pitch for the Western and it’s coming along well. I have the outline done so now I have to work on filling in the details and memorizing it. I’m afraid to practice in front of anyone because I don’t want to know what I’m doing wrong but it’s that the point of rehearsing? Why do I feel foolish running through this in front of 1 or 2 people but not nervous about the prospect of doing the exact same thing in front of 3 people who could make my dreams come true plus an audience of unknown proportions?

 

I need to go shopping as well this week for a suitably artsy yet comfortable yet semi-professional outfit. I have no clue when this will happen because Cinderella has yet to return my mice and my Fairy Godmother is currently in the Bahamas on vacation. I love the reason for the shopping excursion, I just wish I had more time to enjoy the hunt for the style that’s eclectic and artsy, like my writing. I’m thinking bohemian meets nerdy meets vintage but just because it looks great in my head doesn’t mean it will in real life.

 

 

Fall is finally in the air so all I can think about are sweaters, comfortable chairs, wool blankets and pots of tea. Each week I keep hoping that this will be the end of settling in and I can get back to a day where I can do nothing but write. I still haven’t mastered fitting it into a work day and I’m flummoxed and a little frustrated. It shouldn’t be this hard but it is. Does anyone else have trouble with time management and fitting their writing in?

It’s taken much longer than I expected to settle down but I can feel life starting to even out a bit and it’s a relief. I may even get a chance to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. Well, whatever happens happens and all I can do it take it one day at a time. So for today I’ve done quite a bit and still have a bit left to do tonight after work.

 

 

 

 

 

