It’s Halloweek!

 

My most favourite holiday is 2 days away and I’m in Heaven! I’m working on the short story so keep your eyes peeled for the post tonight. Until then, I wanted to write a bit about what’s been going on and the realization I’ve made.

 

I’ve let a lot of things go over the past few months. I’ve let my academic aspirations slide, my writing has shriveled up faster than an apple in a dehydrator and my social life is floundering quite unbecomingly. All because of work. Granted, if everything has to suffer, at least work is the best reason but it’s not an excuse.

 

I miss my 7-hour sleeps that leave me refreshed, invigorated and ready to make the most of the coming day. I miss writing. I miss me-time in the pool. Most of all, I miss you all here in WordPressLand. I’m so embarrassed about how I’ve disregarded my writing project and I’m envious of my fellow year-long, novel-writing fiends- past and present- (yes you, 12 Novels and you, 12 Books in 12 Months) who have had the stamina to forge on and have become bona fide prolific writers. How do you ladies do it? Seriously. How?

 

My brain hasn’t stopped creating plots and characters but I’m not getting the same creative rush I’m used to. This is very disconcerting. I know I was struggling from burn out a while ago and had to recharge my batteries but I thought that’d be over by now. Then September happened and I really didn’t expect it to knock me on my bum as harshly as it did. The critiques were considerate, supportive and as gentle as that kind of rejection possibly can be.

 

NaNoWriMo is leering at me like a snaggle-toothed old man hiding around a corner. I know it’s going to jump out and scare the bejeezus out of me because everything in my life has taken me by surprise this year. I’ve always anticipated NaNo but considering I’m comparing it to a snaggle-toothed old man, something tells me I’m slightly reticent about the coming adventure. Isn’t this what they call getting back on the horse? I’m very afraid that if I don’t do it now I never will.

So, I’m making this official pledge: I will do my honest-to-goodness best to complete NaNoWriMo this year. I may have to defer the gym for another month, and my social life will be resuscitated only as necessary. These sacrifices will be willingly made in order to pursue the art of writing.

 

 

 

 

 

