Blue Skies Just in Time

I just may pass out from the spectacular morning. It’s Friday. It’s the last day of a traditional Monday-to-Friday work week (almost unheard of in my profession) and I have a full appointment schedule (also rare seeing as January tends to be one of our slowest months). I woke up to delightful Classical music and as I made my first cup of favourite tea, Debussy’s “Clair de Lune” began.

Then I looked out the window and saw snow. Everywhere. Roads had disappeared, the harbour was hidden and it looked as though my world was inhabited by pretend people and toy cars. They stood out in stark relief against the white backdrop.

At that moment the first iconic strains of Grieg’s “In the Hall of the Mountain King” danced into my apartment.

I watched the snow whip past my window, seeming to be turn into a whirling dervish before my very eyes as the music sped up. I was mesmerized by the performance, both inside and out. My tea was forgotten, breakfast was neglected and I surrendered to the feeling of being enveloped in the power and beauty of a perfect symbiosis of art and nature.

Left reeling and dazed, the last piece of the perfect Friday trio was my absolute favourite- Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue.” I refreshed my tea and sank into the couch and closed my eyes as the familiar notes washed over me and soothed my frenzied soul.

As I look out the window now, blue skies are starting to hesitatingly peek out from the snow and the promise of a delightful walk to work in a few minutes makes my little heart smile. I hope you have a wonderful Friday and Debussy, Grieg, and Gershwin makes it even better.

