Could You Help Me With My Dilemma?

the first weekend of the year is over and that means there are 4 San’s Sunday Shorts completed and posted. So here’s my dilemma.

I’m not 100% satisfied with how the Shorts are going. I enjoy the writing and the stories aren’t too much of a struggle to think up and scribble down but they don’t feel like stories.

My Grandfather has mentioned (and my Mom has commented a few times) how I should write a series based on Yesterday as a P.I. Moxie Magillicudy is the Sam Spade of the dog world. There are doxie dames, bulldogs, handsome labs, etc. I think I originally was inspired by the “Dogs Playing Poker” painting. Plus, I’m a sucker for personification.

I don’t want to give up on Basil et al., but at the same time I’m not going to continue to beat my head against something that doesn’t feel quite right. I suspect B.L. is going to be much better suited for a novel. In fact I was planning on it this year.

My main issue with Moxie is that the stories will be longer and more involved so I think I’d have to change it to a story each month and post in installments. This lends itself to more stand-alone pieces. But it also doesn’t make “San’s Sunday Shorts” quite true.

Here’s the first 2 paragraphs of the first story:

The rain was coursing down the cracked window of my office one late Thursday evening. I dreaded going home in the rain, I had forgotten my coat and my Mom never bought me rain boots so I’ll be a soggy doggy tonight. I should buy a bed to put in the corner I thought to myself. I was just about to close the blinds and call it a night when I saw the shadow of a strong jaw on the frosted glass of my front door. I sat back down, curious about who was outside. The doorknob turned slowly and a handsome chocolate lab walked in, 90 pounds of confidence and power.

“Don’t bother getting up, Miss Magillicudy” he walked right over to my desk and sat down opposite me.

So, WordPressland, I need your help with this. I know in the end it’s up to me but if changing the series would attract more readers and be more enjoyable I’m all for making the switch. Technically it wouldn’t be a Sunday Short. But are the ones I’m writing now truly short stories? I’m not sure.

Please feel free to leave extra comments below! I’d love to hear what you think.

