Did I Fall Off the Face of the Earth?

It kinda feels like I did, WordPressland, and I’m sorry. The weekend was another delicious writing frenzy and I managed to almost make it to the 1/2 way mark. This should be expected since it’s the 2nd of 4 weekends but also thrilling because it means I’m ahead of my writing schedule for the entire week! It’s thrilling not to have to play catch up (or if I do, only by 2,000 or 3,000 words, not 15,000) and such a relief to be able to sit down and continue on with the story instead of thinking I have to spend 6+ hours catching up to where I should’ve been when I woke up this morning.

I’m absolutely loving my writing schedule. I thought by the end of the 2nd writing weekend I’d start feeling the first smoulderings of burn out but the opposite is true! By as early as last night I’ve been feeling the twinges of creativity and I’m already starting to feel ready to get back to the story. I love sleeping in and working on short stories and tinkering with January’s novel to finish it but at the same time I’ve crossed the hump for February’s book and I’m finally getting into the action. it’s thrilling.

I don’t quite know what’s shifted in my ambitions or my life but it’s like I’ve finally fought my way to a place where this project is possible. I know a huge part has to do with finding a creativity coach to keep me focused and who will point out the magnitude of my accomplishments (because I can only see the baby steps  I have or have not finished) and my friends and family.

Maybe those friends and family who are not of the artistically insane variety are supporting me in the hopes that this will be the last year and I’ll finally move on to oh say, meet someone and have babies (Mom and Dad say they don’t want grandbabies but they derive too much enjoyment from buying clothes and toys for Yesterday.) or at the very least move onto editing these craptastic masterpieces. Whatever their reason, I really don’t care. It’s support, encouragement and interest in my flaky project that might not result in anything more than a pile of manuscripts and a folder full of massage therapy receipts to treat tight shoulders and a stiff back.

 

I also wanted to announce my big news for the year.

 

*drum roll please*

I’ll be attending NaNoWriMo’s Night of Writing Dangerously in San Francisco this year! This has always been on my bucket list so with 2013 being quite possibly the last year I’ll be able to attempt a writing project of this magnitude, what better way to cap such an amazing experience? It’s also a huge incentive to really get these books written and to work hard for the year. I know I can do it and I’m so grateful and appreciative of having the chance to write to my heart’s content. But most of all, I’m grateful for the awareness of just how lucky I truly am.

 

 

So, for the week I’ll be working on short stories, cleaning the apartment and fiddling with other books. I’ve had to give up books because I spent pretty much all day Saturday reading (bad San!) but I’m still hooked on my writing magazines and luckily I have a stack to catch up on.

So, I hope you all have a wonderful Tuesday!

