This Is A … Post

51,852 words and 135 pages.

That is where February’s novel sits, finished and ready for editing.

I can’t believe I’m done February’s story and not only finished but finished early! And, I only write it on the weekends! It’s full of really bad writing and had a weak ending that I’m going to have to rewrite (I’m not convinced it’s an ending at all) but I’ve done it!

I was sure it would work out but then I came into this weekend and I began to doubt. The weeks I work on Saturdays are tough because I have Fridays off but the get together I always go to eats into some of my most productive time and I lose half a day for work. Really, I still haven’t managed to balance life and writing. It seems that it’s always 100% one or the other.

I had to write 15,669 words this weekend to succeed but I blew past that with 17,528. I know, it’s the quality not the quantity that counts but at the same time you have to scrounge through the pile of crap for the few bits and pieces worth keeping.

I don’t know if it’s a good sign or not that I’m very aware at the moment of just how much editing I have to do and what a big undertaking I’m created for myself by writing a historical fiction without one iota of research. I don’t even know if they have locks that require keys for their doors let alone period dress, social structure and appropriate behaviour, chaperones, travel, etc. I feel like I need to go back to school to learn how to research to write!

I can’t wait to start on Book 2 although I have no idea what’s going to happen between the beginning and the end. The outline started with 1 linear plot but the manuscript ended with 3 and the hint of deception and untruths. I have no idea where any of this came from but I’ll take it.

It’s a little scary to think that I have 2 more books to write for the series and I have no idea where I’m going with either one. There are a lot of challenges to working on a story line that involves more than 1 or 2 books but that’s what I really like about it. Since I haven’t written one before I’m being a little easy on myself for my ending. Really, how neat and tidy can it be? It’s like t.v. show season finales- you really need a humdinger of a cliffhanger to keep people wanting more!

I’ll write another post this week about February’s experience when i’ve let my brain rest and recuperate from the adventure. I need a little time away from the book before properly dissecting the process.

Happy Monday!

