Starting “The Western Book 2” 2 Weekends Into March

 

I can’t believe another weekend is here already. Is it just my routine and life schedule that is making the year fly by so quickly or are other people having the same experience?

 

And not only is it another weekend, it’s already the second weekend in March! I feel like I should be well-established in the new novel but aside  from the title page and “Chapter,” I have nothing written. I don’t feel guilty about taking last weekend off but I do get a twinge of regret every so often about it. Well, there’s nothing to be done now but focus this weekend and make sure I don’t continue the trend of slacking off on my novel writing.

Talking about slacking off…

 

 

To be honest, I haven’t thought about the novel for a grand total of 5 minutes this week and I don’t feel guilty, nervous or daunted by the prospect of starting a whole new book tomorrow. I know the ending but from “Chapter 1” to “The End,” I have absolutely no idea what’s going to happen. To be honest, I’m more occupied at the moment with thoughts of Lucille the Laptop’s two, yes two, replacements. I keep dreaming of a beautiful little iPad and a delicious 27-inch, wall-mounted Mac for my postage stamp-sized apartment. Overkill? Perhaps but I’m afraid Lucile is going to keel over and die all sudden-like one day soon. I’d like to return to a desktop but have something less than a laptop to carry with me to work on when I’m out. It’s time to let Lucille enjoy her twilight in comfort. After all, she’s over 7 years old now.

Apparently the Apple Faeries will be delivering these goodies at some point this year. Let me know if you’d like me to send them your way… I’ll see what I can do.

I also haven’t been working on the short stories or other writing projects that have been swirling in my head so far this year and that’s not acceptable. I’ve enjoyed and actually seem to thrive on confining the novels to the weekends so I have plenty of time during the week to work on other writing projects but I just can’t seem to shake my laziness. Granted, once the Spring arrives, it’ll be much easier to get up earlier and get going (I hope). Who doesn’t love early morning walks with a dog? Fresh air, sunshine, a happy little fur-being reading her newspaper and maybe even a detour to our local dog-friendly coffee shop for a little treat for the walk… nope, can’t beat that kind of morning routine. However, it makes procrastination much too easy.

So far March has been a lion in lamb’s clothing. It was beautiful some days, luckily the weekdays, but it’s blustery, cold, and very much a stay-inside kind of day. It’s going to get progressively harder to stay focused as the nice weather rolls in so I’m crossing my fingers and hoping against every other wisher and dreamer out there that the weekends remain wet, cold, overcast and unpleasant. It won’t last for much longer so I just want to get the most out of the last few weeks of winter. Is that too much to ask?

I’m not sure what’s going to happen over the course of the weekend with this story and I’m intrigued. As usual, the internet will be disconnected and I have to work at not plugging it back in earlier than Monday but it’s going to be a battle. It always seems to be; I’m afraid I’m addicted to it. There’s no other explanation.

Wish me luck as I head into this weekend and I sincerely hope that whatever bad weather you’re forecasted to get is shuttled my way and I’ll try to send the nice weather we’re supposed to get over here to you. Does that sound fair?

Happy Weekend, WordPressland!

